top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin Hollins

Things my parents did that helped me during French Imm...

Updated: Sep 11, 2023


Compiled by Mme Erin Hollins with the help of her Grade 7 LFI class in Novemeber, 2009.

(With a few amendments made in September, 2022.)

My parents...

-Asked if I had homework and helped remind me to complete it. Now doing my homework has become a kind of habit.

-Let me figure it out on my own and did not jump in with Google Translate to solve things instantly.

-Gave lots and lots of encouragement, without which I would have dropped out.

-Helped look things up, including definitions, verb conjugations, using bon patron online (grammar checker) when I got frustrated.

-Wrote test dates on the family calendar.

-Made sure homework looked neat & tidy.

-Looked over work for spelling.

-Helped type out assignments

(but NO GOOGLE TRANSLATE as that defeats the idea of studying a language...)

-Picked up homework from school if I was home sick.

-Were there to listen when I felt down.

-Let me phone/text a friend or an older FRIMM student to ask questions.

-Quizzed the material with me, over and over and over.

-Encouraged me to watch and listen to French programs.

-Gave me all the time I needed for studying for tests.

-Bookmarked Mme Hollins' homework site so that it was easy to look up what needed to get done.

IF there was one thing I could tell FRIMM parents it would be:

-Encourage your children to study, and do not distract them with screens or other things while they are working.

-Don’t get too upset with your kids. If things aren’t going well, go talk with the teacher. S/he’ll help!

-Focus on good study habits, not top marks.

-Ask to see the planner and make sure assignments are being written down.

-Think positively and provide lots of encouragement.

-Never give up. Study hard, because it is hard at the end it’s all worth it.

-Practice reading French with your son/daughter during free time.

-Don’t get scared – remember to laugh at mistakes and have some fun learning.

-Your kids are going to get frustrated and this is normal, so please let your kids make mistakes because we’re only starting out. How can a seed grow into a flower without time and basic needs?

One thing my parents did that did not help was:

-Turned on the TV as I was starting my homework.

-Yelled and were really critical of my homework.

-Tried to pronounce words in French.

-Asked me to do something other than my homework – sometimes I just need to take my time with it.

-Pressured me for the right answer all the time. I have to make mistakes to learn.

-Pushed me to speak French in front of people. I just get really shy and clam up.


Recent Posts

See All

YOUR JOB... MY JOB

Expectations in Div. 5 As a student, your job is to: -Ask great questions -Bring your supplies to class -Hand in work on time -Have a positive attitude -Respect yourself, your classmates and this spac

bottom of page